PUBLICATIONS

Hong Kong Education Stories Book Series

A City’s Educational Heritage: Stories of Kowloon Schools

Kowloon was primed for development when the Convention of Peking was signed between China and Britain in 1860. Amidst the rapid expansion of urban area and growth of population, demand for education also surged. School sponsoring bodies originally based on Hong Kong Island became aware of the emerging education needs on the peninsula and began to broaden their education services across the harbour. While the 1911 Revolution, the establishment of the new republican government, the New Culture Movement, the War of Resistance against Japanese aggression and other major events took place, many intellectuals from mainland China arrived and taught in Hong Kong. Although some of them settled on the island, many mainlanders and schools relocated to different locations in Kowloon.
Time went by, and the world evolved. Even though the cityscape of the Kowloon peninsula has undergone numerous changes, we can still see the earliest roads and historic buildings along Nathan Road, Prince Edward Road, Shanghai Street and Tai Po Road. We can vaguely discern how the old town and new urban areas have fused and thus explore the passage of time within each district. Existing and discontinued schools from different eras are situated across Kowloon. They form part of the community's history and provide proof of the changes in the city and its education over time.

Sample (Courtesy of Chung Hwa Book Co.)

 

Cradle - Education Now and Then in the Central and Western District (2020)

Sample (Courtesy of Chung Hwa Book Co.)

 

School Uniform Days: An Illustrated History of School Uniforms in Hong Kong (2019)

Sample (Courtesy of Chung Hwa Book Co.)

 

Back to Kindergarten: Early Learning in Hong Kong: Past and Present (2018)

For many of us, our years in kindergarten must seem rather distant, yet the memories, good and bad, linger on. To help us recall our collective past, the Hong Kong Museum of Education of EdUHK selects over 150 images of historical value and explores their context with simple but informative text. Starting with the first kindergarten in Hong Kong, the images and texts tell how educational priorities, the training of kindergarten staff and this first school experience have all evolved over time. Together, they cast new light on the distant memories that we all now share.

Sample (Courtesy of Chung Hwa Book Co.)

中文  |   A-   A+

刊物

「香港教育故事」書籍系列

《承教‧城傳:九龍學校的故事》(2021)

1860年中英簽訂《北京條約》,揭開了九龍發展的序幕,市區急速擴展,人口增長,教育需求亦大增。不少早年扎根於香港島的辦學團體洞悉對岸的教育需要,紛紛跨海拓展教育服務,作育英才。其後,辛亥革命、民國新政府成立、新文化運動,以及抗日戰爭等家國大事相繼發生,不少國內知識分子來港從事教育工作,除港島外,亦有大批國內民眾和學校遷徙至九龍各區。

世代更迭,人事遞嬗。如今,走進九龍半島,城市面貌雖已經歷幾番轉變,但仍能隱約從彌敦道、太子道、上海街、大埔道等最早發展的道路和歷史建築,細味新舊城區如何互相交融,從而尋覓各區的歷史延續。現存或停辦的學校,在不同年代,分佈於九龍各處,亦一同譜寫社區歷史,見證城市和教育的變遷。

試讀版本(中華書局提供)

 

《搖籃地 – 中西區教育今昔》(2020)

中西區獨特之處在於它的歷史。百多年來,中西區一直是香港的商業中心;它是殖民地時期最早期開發的地區之一,也是香港教育的搖籃地。英皇、聖類斯、聖士提反、聖保羅、聖若瑟……每一所古老學校,每一段古老校史,每一幢古老校舍,都是香港教育的縮影。《搖籃地──中西區教育今昔》帶讀者走進百多年前的殖民地,追溯本地正規教育的源頭,感受一個多世紀教育發展的流金歲月。在一睹教育先驅風華之時,亦窺探他們的遠大眼光和胸懷,了解他們在設計教學內容時,如何兼顧社會需要和學生背景的縝密心思,更可欣賞古老校舍的建築特色及獨有特質。

試讀版本(中華書局提供)

 

《校服歲月:圖說香港校服史》(2019)

由大襟裝、長衫、工人褲、水手服到白色連身裙……我們學生時代都穿過的校服,記載的不只是每個人的青春歲月,還有香港的百年歷史。由時裝設計師陳美怡,聯同香港教育博物館合著的《校服歲月:圖說香港校服史》,參考逾千舊照、校刊、文獻,以及訪問校服供應商、各校師生校友等,再結合香港歷史的發展、世界時尚潮流的影響,從中推敲校服的演變方向,以及背後的文化意義。本書既以年代為縱、款式風格為緯,清晰展示香港校服自開埠至今的發展脈絡;各章亦附多篇小故事,以輕鬆角度為校服史補白。尤其可貴的是,本書不但收錄多張老照片,還有超過四百張手繪插圖,通過一頁頁的視覺盛宴,帶你重新發現我們早已視為日常的校服之美。

試讀版本(中華書局提供)

 

《再做一次幼稚園生 – 香港幼兒教育今昔》(2018)

幼稚園生活對很多人來說或已相距很遠,那份樸實的回憶卻值得我們再三回味。為了帶大家重返那個純真年代,香港教育大學香港教育博物館精選逾150幅與幼稚園生活、幼教政策及師訓有關的珍品照片和歷史影像,輯錄成書,當中不少來自各界捐贈,部分更曾在展館展出。全書以輕鬆而翔實的文字,由全港第一間幼稚園開始,圖文並茂細訴香港百年來的幼兒教育變遷。長大後重溫幼年讀書的快樂滋味,必有另一番嶄新的體會。

試讀版本(中華書局提供)

English  |   A-   A+